For those of you who want to collect legitimately reproduced images of Abstract Expressionist work, but have only $0.44 to spend on each, your day has come.  On March 11, the US Postal Service releases a set of 10 commemorative stamps featuring artwork by such legends as Jackson Pollock, Willem de Kooning, Mark Rothko, Hans Hofmann, and Clyfford Still. The ten paintings were selected by Art Director Ethel Kessler and Art Historian Jonathan Fineberg and provides a great representation of the vital movement.

List of works featured and pre-order information after the jump…

To pre-order the stamps, go to the USPS Postal Store page
The list of artwork and artists are as follows:

  • The Golden Wall (1961)Hans Hofmann
  • Romanesque Façade (1949)Adolph Gottlieb
  • Orange and Yellow (1956)Mark Rothko
  • The Liver Is the Cock’s Comb (1944)Arshile Gorky
  • 1948-C (1948)Clyfford Still
  • Asheville (1948)Willem de Kooning
  • Achilles (1952)Barnett Newman
  • Convergence (1952)Jackson Pollock
  • Elegy to the Spanish Republic No. 34 (1953-1954)Robert Motherwell
  • La Grande Vallée 0 (1983)Joan Mitchell